This unit will cover the history of the Coptic Church from its founding by St Mark the Evangelist to the 7th Century AD. Students will learn about the theological contribution of the great Alexandrian doctors of the church such as Clement, Origen, Athanasius and Cyril, and the School of Alexandria. Students will also examine the important roles its Patriarchs and scholars played in the ecumenical Councils until the 5th century. Different forms of monasticism such as the eremitical (Antony) and cenobitic (Pachomious) will be studied. Finally, students will learn about the various eras of persecution in the Coptic Church.

Unit Code: CH1109A

Points: 18.0

Unit Level: Undergraduate Level 1

Unit Discipline: Church History

Delivery Mode: Online

Proposing College: St Athanasius College

Show when this Unit is running

Learning Outcomes


Identify the sources for Coptic Church history in their original languages using basic research skills


Demonstrate an understanding of the history and the scholars of the school of Alexandria and its role in Christian thought.


Discuss the fathers of Egyptian Monasticism and their ascetic teachings.


Describe the role of the Coptic Church in the ecumenical councils


Discuss the historical and dogmatic background of the Council of Chalcedon (451AD).


Six fortnightly sessions, comprising guided reading from the set texts, additional reading resources and some notes, together with an online tutorial. Students will be expected to contribute to the discussions in each session.


Type Description Wordcount Weight (%)

Essay 1500 Words

0 40.0

Essay 2500 Words

0 60.0

Unit approved for the University of Divinity by John Capper on 19 Oct, 2017

Unit Record last updated: 2019-03-14 13:46:34 +1100